Collaborative Research

​​​​​

RDO to provide funding in support of KSA universities developing R&D related Collaborative Research Projects with industry.

Why is this initiative introduced by the RDO?

Collaborative research projects are deemed to accelerate the transfer of knowledge between academic experts and industry. These projects should revolve around the development of world-class research and its translation into practical applications through university-industry collaborative projects. The Collaborative Research Projects initiative aims to:

  1. Strengthen the capacity of the R&D ecosystem in KSA to produce high quality research with increased strategic impact
  2. Develop long-term partnerships with industry in conducting R&D that has a joint institutional interest
  3. Enable researchers to work in an industry setting to gather skills while fostering knowledge exchange and allow for industry to work in an academic setting
  4. Promote a sustainable R&D culture of collaboration across disciplines

The initiative will focus on empirically based research where possible solutions to key challenges and problems are addressed.

How large are the awards?

How large are the awards.png

Award: Between SAR 200,000 and 500,000 for 2-3 years

Each project will last for a minimum of 2 years and a maximum of 3 years. Depending on the scale of the project, the RDO is responsible for determining the appropriate amount of funding to be disbursed relative to the amount requested in the application.  That said, for projects to be considered eligible for this grant, Industry contribution is required and match funding from the industry partner will improve the researchers chance of being awarded the grant.

Who can apply?

The competition will be open to researchers/research teams in KSA public or private universities. The PI must be established members (Assistant Professor or above) of a KSA public university or those from a KSA private or university (Saudi or non-Saudi) under the MoE umbrella. For the industry partners the research team can collaborate with, there is no defined requirements on the type of companies, but that they must possess expertise in the project field and must be able to contribute financially or match the funding. The industry partner can be an international company but is required to have operations in the Kingdom.

 

What can the money be spent on?

The spend plan for Collaborative Research Projects are detailed in the guideline document but at a high-level, the usage of the funding is divided into three categories: mobility, data collection, equipment and consumables. It is the research team's decision to determine allocation with clear justification.

 

How do I apply?

Further details can be found in:

Guidelines document

Expression of Interest (Stage 1)​

FAQs​​​

Letter of Intent​ 

Applications for the Collaborative Research Project Initiative must be submitted to the RDO electronically via the online application form on the website.

Applicants must ensure that the EOI forms with the Letter of Intent from the industry partner are received by the RDO electronically, at the latest, 4pm (16:00) on 21st of February 2019. An incomplete application or one that does not meet the eligibility criteria outlined in these Guidelines will not be considered. Shortlisted applicants will be informed of their status once the evaluation process is complete.

For any inquiries in regards to this initiative please contact us electronically at uni-indus@moe.gov.sa

©Copyrights, Ministry of Education – Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

البحوث التعاونية

​​

يوفر مكتب البحث والتطوير التمويل لدعم جامعات المملكة العربية السعودية التي تجري بحوث تعاونية مع القطاع الخاص

لماذا يتم تقديم هذه المبادرة من قبل مكتب البحث والتطوير؟

تعتبر المشاريع البحثية التعاونية عامل مسرع لعملية نقل المعرفة بين الخبراء الأكاديميين والقطاع الخاص/الصناعي. هذه المشاريع يجب أن تدور حول تطوير البحوث ذات المستوى العالمي وترجمتها إلى تطبيقات عملية من خلال المشاريع التعاونية بين الجامعات والصناعة. تهدف مبادرة مشاريع البحوث التعاونية إلى:

- تقوية قدرة قطاع البحث والتطوير في المملكة العربية السعودية على إنتاج بحوث عالية الجودة مع زيادة الأثر الاستراتيجي

- تطوير شراكات طويلة الأجل مع القطاع الخاص في إجراء البحوث والتطوير التي لها مصلحة مؤسسية مشتركة

- تمكين الباحثين من العمل في بيئة مختلفة لجمع المهارات مع تعزيز تبادل المعرفة

- تعزيز ثقافة البحث والتطوير المستدامة للتعاون عبر التخصصات

سوف تركز المبادرة على البحث القائم على التجربة حيث يتم تناول الحلول الممكنة للتحديات والمشاكل الرئيسية.

 

ما حجم الدعم؟

حجم الدعم.png 

الدعم: بين 200,000 و 500,000 ريال لمدة 2-3 سنوات

يستمر كل مشروع لمدة لا تقل عن سنتين او 3 سنوات كحد أقصى. واعتمادًا على حجم المشروع، يكون مكتب البحث والتطوير مسؤولًا عن تحديد مقدار التمويل المناسب الذي سيتم صرفه بالنسبة للمبلغ المطلوب في الطلب. ومع ذلك، بالنسبة للمشاريع التي تعتبر مؤهلة للحصول على هذه المنحة، فإن مساهمة القطاع الخاص /الصناعي مطلوبة، وسيؤدي التمويل المتوافق مع شريك الصناعي إلى تحسين فرص الباحثين في الحصول على الدعم.

من يمكنه التقدم بطلب؟

ستكون المنافسة مفتوحة للباحثين / فرق البحث في الجامعات السعودية الحكومية أو الخاصة. يجب أن يكون العضو او الباحث الرئيسي (أستاذ مساعد أو أعلى) من جامعة حكومية في المملكة العربية السعودية أو من جامعة خاصة في المملكة العربية السعودية (سعودي او غير سعودي) تحت مظلة وزارة التعليم. بالنسبة لشركاء الصناعة ، يمكن لفريق البحث التعاون ، ولا توجد متطلبات محددة بشأن نوع الشركات ، ولكن يجب أن يمتلكوا خبرة في مجال المشروع ويجب أن يكونوا قادرين على المساهمة مالياً أو مطابقة التمويل. يمكن أن يكون شريك الصناعة شركة دولية ولكن مطلوبًا أن يكون لديه عمليات في المملكة.

ما الذي يمكن إنفاق الدعم عليه ؟

بشكل عام يمكن تخصيص الأموال على النحو التالي: الراتب ، و تكلفة استخدام مرافق الجامعة ، والنفقات الأخرى مثل المواد الاستهلاكية والتنقل. جميع التفاصيل متوفرة في الدليل الإرشادي ادناه.

كيف أتقدم بطلب؟

يمكن العثور على مزيد من التفاصيل في:

الدليل الإرشادي

التعبير عن الاهتمام (المرحلة الاولى)​

الأسئلة الشائعة​​

خطاب نية العمل​ 

يجب تقديم الطلبات الخاصة بمبادرة مكتب نقل التقنية إلى مكتب البحث والتطوير إلكترونياً عبر نموذج الطلب المتوفر في الموقع (سيطرح قريبا)

يجب على مقدمي الطلب التأكد من استلام مكتب البحث والتطوير نماذج التعبير عن الاهتمام في موعد أقصاه الساعة 4 مساءً (16:00) يوم 21 فبراير 2019 كمستند PDF واحد. لن يتم النظر في الطلب غير المكتمل أو الطلب الذي لا يستوفي معايير الأهلية الموضحة في هذه الإرشادات. سيتم إبلاغ المتقدمين الفائزين الذين تم اختيارهم بمجرد اكتمال عملية التقييم.

لأي استفسارات بخصوص هذه المبادرة يرجى الاتصال بنا إلكترونيًا على uni-indus@moe.gov.sa